Rambling: Writing and More

Rambling: Writing and More

 I am going to literally ramble right now. I don’t know what about. I’m very tired, I just woke up from a horrible dream that involved a lot of screaming and crying on my part, and a lot of trying to comfort me on the part of the complete strangers that populate my dreams. To be frank, I’ve been feeling off all week, but not the kind of off where you can stay home from work snuggled up in something warm, trying to rest. No, it’s the kind of off where you don’t feel bad enough to not go in to work, but it does make work incredibly difficult when you are there. Not really fun at all.

However, I do have something rather exciting that has happened, I suppose. Well, it is exciting for me. I’ve finished typing up Book 2 of my Wings of Shattered Shards series. So that is essentially draft 2 done, as I handwrite the first draft, typically. I’ll need to transfer all the words over to find out where I’m sitting at for manuscript total, but I believe I should be hovering just over 100,000. I have at least two more scenes that I will want to include, but I’ll need to add those in during the next round of edits, so that I know exactly what I want and where it will fit in with the story. I know that it will involve the “bad guys” as I want to show more of what they are doing throughout the events of book 2. 

I’m very excited for it. I quite like the ending that I have written so far, although it is, of course, subject to change depending upon my whims. I think the thing that cheers me the most, here, is how much quicker I was writing this book than the first one. There are quite a few factors that went into that, not the least of which being I knew what I was doing a bit better, I knew I would be typing it up, and I had it far more organized in a notebook, rather than on countless scraps of Canadian Tire paper. I still have all those scraps of paper, even though the story has evolved far beyond the scribbles that they hold. It’s quite incredible.

Aside from that, there isn’t much exciting occurring for me. My husband bought me a wonderful Christmas gift – an Oodie, which is the softest and warmest thing I have ever worn and I love it to bits. I’ve been wearing it everyday since I got it, and wish desperately to be able to wear it to work. I think, however, that a hoodie that goes down past my knees, bunches comically around my wrists and that you could literally fit another one of me in, is likely not completely work appropriate. Alas.

I suppose this is all I really have to say, today. As I said, I’m quite tired right now. My alarm went off and I nearly fell asleep again immediately after shutting it off. I’d love to stay home and sleep, but that is not in the cards today. I’ve been told that I need to go to work, and that earning money is important, or something.

If you ask me, everyone should just buy my book and then I wouldn’t have this issue any more. I could just write forever! Don’t worry, though, I don’t actually expect everyone to buy my book. It would be awesome, but I’d probably need to be more active in advertising to sell more. Something I really should look into, one of these days. Maybe after I publish book 2.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.