Rambling: Valentine

Rambling: Valentine

Today is a day to celebrate love, or something. I mean, in my mind this day has become a very manufactured holiday with an emphasis on the material things – chocolates, flowers, diamond rings. That has never sat well with me. Of course, I also believe that you should be honoring your love every day, not just on this one specific day.

But the day remains and couples some the world buy into it. Literally.

I personally only give the holiday a token nod or, more appropriately, a token kiss.

So, to those who celebrate, I hope you enjoy the time you are spending with your loved one(s). To those that aren’t, I hope you simply have a great Friday and a lovely weekend afterward.

Oh, and to the kids whose parents don’t tell them to give a Valentine card to every kid in their class… You really should. I was always left out, and it made grade school me a very sad little girl when I emptied out my decorated box to find only a small handful of cards, probably from my two close friends and the teacher.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.