Rambling: The State of Things

Rambling: The State of Things

Its been hard to find that creativity lately. Difficult enough to find the words for my story, even more so to write a blog post that doesn’t perpetuate the doom and gloom that is our world lately. The last blog post I tried to write was just before all this started to effect my country and, therefore, my life. It was a post speculating on the comfort of finally having “enough” and not worrying about spending money on more frivolous things. Can’t say that feels altogether appropriate say this point in time.

There are still silver linings, despite the state of the world today. You might need to look a little harder, but they are there. Personally, I find myself hoping that this pandemic will upset the current order of the world, so that when we return to a normal it is a different flavor of normal them we’ve had before now. Something better, more sustainable. Maybe I’m just dreaming, but it is a pleasant enough dream.

Amidst all the dark, there is still light. There are those working tirelessly to help others, even just by making face masks for those who work in the health sector. They are doing this without asking for anything back, because it is the right thing to do. The good thing. There is a lot to be proud of, right now. And, of course, there are all our health workers, the nurses, the doctors and their support staff, putting their health and lives on the line to help those in their community.

But there never seems to be good without bad. Two sides of the same coin. Ever intertwined. I know you’ve seen it, the videos and pictures of protests, people sick and tired of the social isolation. Tired of not working. They gather together and protest, perhaps not even fully realizing how dangerous their actions are right now. Maybe just not caring. I can’t pretend to know their thoughts in this time.

But I don’t want to focus on those people. They are the loud ones. The we are going to hear about the most. The small stories of kindness go overlooked amongst the noise. So I urge you to take a moment, seek out the stories of those who are doing what they are able to help those that they can. Along with our health professionals, these people are the heroes. Giving what they can when there is not a lot to give.

As ride the bus into work, I can see numerous windows filled with hearts and messages of love and support. Outside the hospital there is even more. The other day, as I sat dejected on the bus, the automated voice spoke up. “We’re all in this together,” it droned. I nearly cried. I needed to hear that, even if it was just from a robotic voice.

So, I want to take this time to say it to you. We are in this together. We will get through this, because humans are wondrous creatures. We adapt. We change. And we carry on. We will make it through.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.